

City of Franklin

109 3rd Ave S Franklin, TN 37064 (615)791-3217

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 19-0166 Version: 1 Name: Building and Street Standards Board of Appeals

Type: Nominations/Appointments Status: Passed

File created: 2/7/2019 In control: Board of Mayor & Aldermen

On agenda: 2/26/2019 Final action: 2/26/2019

Title: Consideration of Mayor's Reappointment of Ron Crutcher, Antonio Montiel, Gary Vogrin and Greg

Judy to the Building and Street Standards Board of Appeals (BSSBOA).

Sponsors: Dr. Ken Moore

Indexes:

Code sections:
Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
2/26/2019	1	Board of Mayor & Aldermen	approved	Pass

DATE: February 26, 2019

TO: Board of Mayor and Aldermen

FROM: Eric Stuckey, City Administrator

Vernon Gerth, ACA Community and Economic Development

Tom Marsh, Interim Director BNS

SUBJECT:

Consideration of Mayor's Reappointment of Ron Crutcher, Antonio Montiel, Gary Vogrin and Greg Judy to the Building and Street Standards Board of Appeals (BSSBOA).

Purpose

The purpose of this memo is to provide information to the Franklin Board of Mayor and Aldermen (BOMA) concerning appointments to the BSSBOA. The terms of four members are expiring and the Mayor has recommended re-appointment for an additional 5 year term.

Background

The Building and Streets Standards Board of Appeals is a technical body established to hear and decide appeals of orders, decisions or determinations made by the Building Official, Fire Code Official, and City Engineering relating to the application and interpretation of the technical provisions of adopted building, electrical, plumbing, mechanical, fuel gas, property maintenance, fire and life safety codes for both residential and commercial properties and buildings or structures, appurtenances connected or attached to such buildings or structures, and the transportation and street standards as adopted by the City of Franklin, Tennessee.

Listed below are current members of the Board. Board members under consideration for re-appointment are marked with an asterisk.

File #: 19-0166, Version: 1

Board Members	Term End Date
*Ron Crutcher (Chair) - Civil Engineer	2/2019
*Gary Vogrin (Vice-Chair) - Landscape Architect	2/2019
Billy Robbins - Electrical Contractor	8/2021
Harry Harris - Architect	8/2021
Sara Salge - Mechanical Engineer	8/2021
*Tony Montiel - Civil Engineer	2/2019
*Greg Judy - Civil Engineer (Traffic)	2/2019
Lance Maliszewski - Plumbing Contractor	8/2021
Andy Shapiro - Fire Service Professional	8/2021

Financial Impact

Funding for the activities of the board comes from the BNS budget as needed, and are supported by a fee of \$250 in order to hear an appeal.

Recommendation

The Mayor has selected Ron Crutcher, Gary Vogrin, Tony Montiel, and Greg Judy for re-appointment to the BSSBOA. The BOMA may act to confirm these appointments.